Monday, May 27, 2024
    HomeLatestAFORD Triumphs In Mzimba

    AFORD Triumphs In Mzimba


    There was jubilation in the wee hours of Wednesday after Mzimba district Returning officer announced unofficial results in favour of Alliance for democracy (AFORD) Wachepa Phiri who got 3633 against his main contender Malawi Congress party  Donnex Muva who got 3615.

    Independent candidate Dr Reuben Ngwenya got 1521, UTM’s Candidate Christopher Mnyenyembe scooped 1322, Freedom Party candidate John Phiri got 281 votes and Wesley Kumwenda of DPP got 149 votes.

    Mzimba district Returning officer who is also M’mbelwa district commissioner, Emmanuel Bambe asked candidates who have complaints to follow proper channels to lodge their concerns.

    “Electoral process has checks and balances. In the event that there are complaints MEC will address all the complaints,” Bambe explained.

    When addressing the gathering at Santon hall, where there was district tally centre, MEC regional elections officer Deverson Makwete said before determining the winner, MEC looks at all the complaints and address them.

    “The Commission takes time to determine the winner. It addresses all the complaints before it determines the winner,” he said.

    Mzimba east constituency seat fell vacant after the death of legislature of the area Wezzie Gondwe  who died on 1st October, 2021 at Garden City clinic in South Africa due to liver problem.

    In Nkhotakota North East constituency, Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Candidate, Overstone Kondowe won the elections

    Announcing the results on Wednesday early morning, Returning Officer, who is also Nkhotakota Acting District Commissioner Ben Tonho, said Overstone Kondowe of Malawi Congress Party (MCP) amassed 6, 729 votes with Democratic Progressive Party`s (DPP) candidate Aisha Silver coming a distant second with 1, 929 votes.

    Independent candidate Zelita Banda got 726 while Chimwemwe Chidothe of UTM got 472 votes.

    Other candidates included Franklin Yonamu (Independent) who got 445 votes; Patrick Kampaliro of Alliance for Democracy Democracy (AFORD) who got 238 votes; Gift Mbuna (Independent) who got 160 votes while Panji Chirambo of Alliance for Democracy and Development (ADD) and Aleke Kamangeni of United Democratic Front (UDF) amassed 82 votes and 47 votes respectively.-MANA

    Related articles


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here


    Latest posts